Canberra Chess Club

Annual General Meeting - 9 June 2021

Meeting opened at 7-00 pm. Chair: Nathalie Tisserand

Attendance

Eric Jochimsen Cam Cunningham Peter Johnston

Nathalie Tisserand Henk Doel Milan Grcic

Brian Butler Marco Sun

Chris Brick Ben Chow Jun Lina

Roy Teymant

Jayden Tarigan Jozo Rosic

Diego Bernal Garcia

Simon Louie

Syed Assad John Newman Andrew Dempster Matthew Maltman Lachlan Ho

Gary Trevean Leiming Yu Yuri Eom Ming Chen Oscar Ho

Apologies

Nil Apologies

Minutes of Previous Annual General Meeting

No business arising from previous minutes.

Accepted.

Moved:

Roy Teymant

Seconded:

Cam Cunningham

Reports

President's Report

Nathalie Tisserand delivered the President's report.

It was a challenging but successful year during which the club relocated to new premises. There has been significant growth in numbers of new members, whereas numbers of existing members plateaued or dropped off slightly. All advertised tournaments were completed. Thanks to the Committee members and to the Equipment team for their work over the last year.

Accepted

Moved:

Peter Johnston

Seconded:

Simon Louie

Treasurer's Report

The club's bank balance is healthy, with annual income of \$1380 against expenditure of \$545. The balance is expected to surpass \$8000. Overall accounts show a very satisfactory situation.

Accepted

Moved:

Cam Cunningham

Seconded:

Roy Teymant

Election of Office Bearers for 2021/22

The following were elected (all unopposed for 2021):

President

Henk Doel

Proposed

Roy Teymant

Seconded

Cam Cunningham

Henk accepted the nomination and was elected president.

Vice President

Simon Louie

Proposed

Nathalie Tisserand

Seconded

Roy Teymant

Simon accepted the nomination and was elected vice-president.

Treasurer

Brian Butler

Proposed Seconded Roy Teymant

onded Eric Jochimsen

Brian accepted the nomination and was elected treasurer.

Secretary

Gary Trevean

Proposed

Nathalie Tisserand

Seconded

Peter Johnston

Gary accepted the nomination and was elected secretary.

Committee Member

Syed Assad

Syed accepted the role of Committee member No other nominations were received.

Signatories to Club bank account are presently president, treasurer and secretary.

Non - Elected positions

Director(s) of Play

Simon Louie, with

Gary Trevean offering to assist.

Equipment

Web Master

Syed Assad.

Other Business

1. Deadline for an Annual General Meeting under the constitution.

Current wording is:

"The Club is to hold an AGM not later than 31 March each year."

Proposed wording is:

"The Club is to hold an AGM at a time of its choosing".

Proposed Seconded Nathalie Tisserand

Peter Johnston

Carried unanimously

2. Time control for long-time tournaments

After discussion where the meeting heard various viewpoints on the merits of various different long time controls, the following proposal was put to the members:

That one tournament per year (the Club Championship) should remain having a time control of 90 minutes plus 30 seconds per player. The other long-time-control tournaments (all except Rapids and Lightning) should change to 60 minutes plus 30 seconds per player.

Proposed Seconded

Simon Louie Gary Trevean

Carried.

Close

The meeting closed at 7-40 pm.

Signed:

Henk Doel

Simon Louie

Gary Trevain

Nathalie Tisserand

Peter Johnston

Brian Butles

Marco Sun

BButter

16/6/21